My First Project: Battle Fever J

People that know me, know this: I do not speak or read Japanese.

They also know that in recent years, I’ve become a big Tokusatsu fan.

After watching many different shows, I’ve come to really appreciate the work done by fansubbing groups (to whom I have links posted on the right hand side of this blog).

So, after checking out tons of stuff, I’ve noticed that there’s a show I really want to watch, Battle Fever J. The RAWs are out there, but the fully subtitled version is taken from 20 to 30 year old video tapes that decayed significantly by the time they were transferred to a digital format. In addition, there are some issues with the timing on the originals, names that were cleaned up so they wouldn’t scare the children, small things like that.

All the while I find myself thinking, “You know, all it would take would be some time and I could probably fix this.”

So I’ve finally decided that I’m going to just go ahead and do it. I’ll transcribe all 52 episodes, and teach myself how to make subtitles for the Bunny Hat RAWs of the series.

I’m not translating, I’m just transcribing and fixing what I believe to be small mistakes. This is going to be a learning experience for me, and I hope that this will be an interesting challenge.

From what I’ve watched so far it’s a really fun series and really deserves to be easier to watch.

2 comments

  1. Kinda neat seeing someone enter fansubbing the same way I did, and with the same show too! And considering it does take for us/Megabeast Empire while to release new subs for Battle Fever, what you’re planning on doing should tide people over in between releases.
    Just a few things: Download Aegisub first of all http://www.aegisub.org/ , it’s what most people use for fansubbing. This http://docs.aegisub.org/3.1/Audio/ and this http://docs.aegisub.org/3.1/Timing/ should cover how to time the files.

    1. Thanks so much for the helpful info! I really appreciate it.

      I knew about Aegisub, but that timing info is priceless.

      I’m excited to start once my workload lightens, and until then, I’ll be figuring out my methods and testing them.

Leave a Reply

